State Supreme Court: 2-day Sex Offender Registration Regulation ‘Invalid’

Posted on March 4th, 2011 No Comments

The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court has thrown out a requirement that sex offenders report in person to their local police department within two days of their release from prison.

The state’s highest court ruled Thursday that the Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board overstepped its authority by creating the two-day regulation. The court said the board pointed to non-existant gaps in the state’s sex offender law to justify the regulation.

Sex offenders must still check in with police annually, or every 45 days if they are homeless.

In its decision, the court said that since the regulation is invalid, sex offenders who fail to comply are not violating the law.

The ruling stems from the case of a Level 3 sex offender who was living in a Boston homeless-shelter and failed to meet the two-day registration requirement.

If you need assistance in the realm of sex crime law, please contact the Massachusetts sex crimes attorney James Powderly by calling 508-343-0676.


Interview with a Former DUI Client

Archives

Categories

Blogroll

Admin