Sex Offenders Living in Massachusetts

If you have been charged with a sex crime in Massachusetts, you may be required to register as a sex offender as part of your penalty. There are specific laws governing the registration of sex offenders, and if you are required to register, it is important to be familiar with these requirements so that you will not face further charges.

Legal Requirements

Sex offenders living in Massachusetts are required to:

  • Provide all addresses, including secondary addresses. These are addresses where the person resides for more than four days in any month that are not his or her primary address.
  • Register within two days of moving into the state from an outside state.
  • Re-register with a new address at least 10 days before moving from a current address.
  • Give the Board ten days notice before moving out of state. A person who committed or was convicted of a sex crime in Massachusetts is required to register as an offender in any other state of residence, employment, or school.
  • Verify registration data every 45 days if residing at a homeless shelter.

If a person fails to abide by these laws, he or she may face further charges and penalties.

Contact Us

If you have been charged with a sex crime or with evading your sex offender registry requirements, Massachusetts sex crimes defense lawyer James Powderly may be able to help you create a strong defense and fight for a fair outcome in court. To learn more about your legal rights, contact our offices today by calling 508-343-0676 today.


Interview with a Former DUI Client