Possession of Child Pornography

Massachusetts state law Chapter 272: Section 29 lists specific laws and punishments that apply to anyone who “knowingly purchases or possesses” visual materials that depict a child under the age of 18 engaged in lewd or sexual acts. If you have been charged with the possession of child pornography, it is important to be familiar with this law and the associated punishments.

Punishments for the first offense of purchase or possession of child pornography may include:

  • Confinement in state prison for no less than five years
  • Confinement in jail or a correctional facility for up to two and one half years
  • Fines of no less than $1,000 but no more than $10,000
  • A combination of imprisonment and fines

Punishments for a second offense may include:

  • Confinement in a state prison for up to five years
  • Fines ranging from $5,000 to $20,000
  • Both imprisonment and fines

Punishments for subsequent offenses may include:

  • No less than ten years of confinement in state prison
  • Fines ranging from $10,000 to $30,000
  • Both imprisonment and fines

These laws do not apply to officials in possession of the material for the lawful performance of their duties, such as law enforcement officers or licensed psychologists.

Contact Us

If you have been charged with the possession or purchase of child pornography, it is important to have an experienced Massachusetts child pornography possession lawyer on your side to fairly represent your case in court. To learn more about your legal rights and options, contact the offices of James Powderly today by calling 508-343-0676.


Interview with a Former DUI Client