Jessica’s Law and Mandatory Minimum Sentencing

The state of Massachusetts currently has strict laws regarding statutory rape and the age of consent, but recent changes to the laws have made the punishment for such actions much stronger. The passage of Jessica’s law served to impose minimum mandatory sentences for individuals who are found guilty of certain sexual actions toward children.

Persons who are accused of sex crimes may face serious legal penalties and may be forced to deal with long-term effects if convicted. If you or someone you love has been accused of statutory rape or other sex-crimes, contact Massachusetts statutory rape defense attorney James Powderly at 508-343-0676 to discuss your legal options.

Mandatory Minimum Sentencing

Following the passage of statute st2008, c.205 (otherwise known as Jessica’s Law), persons may face a minimum jail sentence of 10 years if they:

  • Have sexual intercourse with a child under 12 years of age (and the defendant is more than 5 years older)
  • Have intercourse with a child between 12 and 16 years of age (and the defendant is more than 10 years older)
  • The defendant has been previously convicted of a crime against children according to the mandatory reporter statutes in the state

Statutory rape charges may carry serious criminal penalties like incarceration, probation, and registry in the state’s sexual offender database. It is important to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side to help you defend your rights and your livelihood.

Contact Us

Persons who have been accused of statutory rape or other crimes have the right to defend themselves in a court of law. If you need legal assistance with statutory rape charges or other sex-crimes charges, contact Massachusetts statutory rape defense attorney James Powderly at 508-343-0676 today.


Interview with a Former DUI Client